Como Park Zoo & Conservatory is operated by the Saint Paul Parks and Recreation Department. The zoo features a seal island, a large cat exhibit, a variety of aquatic life, primates, birds, African hoofed animals and a world class polar bear exhibit. The Marjorie McNeely Conservatory has two acres under glass with a number of different wings dedicated to a variety of plant life including bonsai trees, ferns, orchids and seasonal flowers. The Marjorie McNeely Conservatory also features many outdoor gardens.
The Hallberg Center for the Arts is owned and operated by the Wyoming Area Creative Arts Community (a 501(c)(3) nonprofit) in Wyoming, MN. With 11 powerful new art exhibits each year (some collaborative, some solo or duo) by regional artists, there is always something new to see. Every other month the center brings in 3 songwriters to perform their original music. The organization also offers classes and workshops for artists and aspiring artists throughout the region.
The Tweed’s mansion was built in 1914. It boasts a Neo-Renaissance architectural style by Francis Fitzgerald, architect, and designed by Frederick W. Perkins. Originally, Captain Marcus L. Fay owned the dwelling before George P. Tweed purchased the property. George and his wife Alice lived there until 1950, prior to turning the home to the University of Minnesota-Duluth. In 2017, the Duluth Preservation Alliance invited the public to tour the Tweed’s home. It was an opportunity for the community to catch a glimpse of this Duluth piece of history.
The Como Park Zoo and Marjorie McNeely Conservatory are located in Como Park at 1225 Estabrook Drive, Saint Paul, Minnesota. The park, zoo and conservatory are owned by the City of Saint Paul and are a division of Saint Paul Parks and Recreation.