The Ximenez-Fatio House Museum was built in 1798 as a grocery store, with a tavern and billiard room downstairs, and family quarters upstairs. In 1830 (and again in 1855) rooms were added and the property was converted into a high-end boarding house, the forerunner to the opulent hotels of St. Augustine in the 19th century. From 1830 to 1875, the house was owned, consecutively, by three single women. In 1939, the property was purchased by The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Florida. A member of the purchasing committee in 1939 was extremely active as a suffragist prior to the passing of the 19th Amendment. The women’s history of this 20-room, coquina (a unique sedimentary rock formation) home blends with the African-American history of the region and the upheaval created by slavery, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. But through it all, strong women maintained control of the property and continue to tell its story now!